Busselton Jetty

27 06 2008

Just board at home so went through some old shots of mine . Been trying to find some I took of a sunset about a year ago but havent had any luck as of yet 😦 . Found this shot I took of the Jetty at Busselton . Was from when I went down to Dunsbrough for Christian Fletchers course about 2 months ago . Bit of a different angle from the others . Tried a few things out from Scott Kelbys photoshop book , liked the effect on the shot , and think it would look pretty good on Metallic print .

Might try and head out to for a shot tommorrow morning and mabye on Sunday as well . Been wanting to get some shots of the Martime Museam plus been wanting to head to some farming paddocks to get some shots with this great cloud cover about . If any one else is intreset let me know 🙂

In other news I ordered a Wacom tablet from the otherday just have to wait for it to arrive .

 

Actions

Information

59 responses

27 06 2008
dylanfox

I like this photo, but I feel it might be a little over done… but I also like to get carried away in PS every now and then.
I still don’t know how to get the blues like that though. Christian seems to do it for some of the waves in his photos.

28 06 2008
spoolphotography

Very moody shot Kirk, Not being a long exposure I really like the section where the suns rays are shinning off the surf.

28 06 2008
Luke Austin

Yeah nice shot Kirk, I like the moody sky and how it almost lacks colour. I’m confused as to how I feel about what you’ve done to the water. Although its “unnatural”, I really like the look of it. Maybe its because I don’t know how to do it and I’m simply jealous.

28 06 2008
Mel

Ok I want to know too.You have to tell us all now I need that BLUE water!!!Nice shot Kirk.

28 06 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Dylan ,
Yeah I some times go a bit overboard with processing as well lol .
Helps with the practice of new methods in photoshop but , This was a pretty dull photo to begin with and just seeing what i could get out of it . Will bring the water edit down a bit but thanks 🙂

28 06 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Neal , there was actually no light there was all photoshoped in . Worked okay but might and try to bring the processing of the water down a bit to make it look a bit more natural

28 06 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Luke ,
Yeah Im still unsure about the water as well , i was going for a high contrast image with dull grey skys and brigh foreground might have over done it a bit but still liked the feel to the image

28 06 2008
kirkhille

Thanks mel ,
Not mush to it made a layer of the water and increase the levels saturation of the blues and cyan and put a glasian blur over it . Then put a another layer of the water unedited over it and reduced the opactancy down

28 06 2008
dylanfox

Are you making a selection of the water? I prefer to just use a layer mask and If I want to do something to that same area you can drag that same mask on to the new layer. (if that makes sense)

I really like the look of this image but maybe if the blues were down just a touch….

Keep them coming mate.

28 06 2008
kirkhille

yeah some times do a layer mask but I chop and change my prossecing all the time lol . Was just a quickish edit with this one to try some new techs from scott kelbys book

29 06 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

I’m just unpacking my 9×12 Wacom tablet right this very second. Woo Hoo.

29 06 2008
kirkhille

nice splurg jamie ,
Have to get some hints of you when mine arrives
I only ordered the 6×8

29 06 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hi Kirk,

I remember when I did the course with Christian that he said he regretted getting a small tablet, so yeah I saved up for the larger one.

29 06 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

You keen on checking out the Point Perron area this weekend?

29 06 2008
kirkhille

That will be cool , where is point Perron ?

30 06 2008
jAMES

Wow that water is aqua.

Are you guys shooting anywhere this weekend? I feel like getting out again.

30 06 2008
kirkhille

Thanks James
Looks a little fake but like the effect might tone it down a bit
Yeah will be keen for a shoot this weekend
I think Jamie wants to head to point Perron , not to sure where that is .
I been keen to get some shots like you hilly paddock shot like you one your front page

30 06 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hi Kirk,

Point Perron is around Rockingham. Lots and lots of interesting rock limetone rock formations and apparently a really cool old jetty. I saw photo of the jetty in ruins and it really caught my eye.

Jamie Paterson

30 06 2008
jAMES

Alright I haven’t shot for about 4 months send me an email, i can go sat morning, early.

That shot was in pemberton, too processed I think, but I’m still fiddling er.. working on it

30 06 2008
kirkhille

Once I here what the go is from Jamie ,will send you and email james .
I will be deffinatly going out to shot some time this weekend but

30 06 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hi James,

I would like to head down Saturday evening as that will give us plenty of time to check the place out before setting up for a shot. No point in turning up Saturday morning when its pitch black and we haven’t scoped the place out. 🙂

Jamie Paterson

1 07 2008
jAMES

Agreed, I have to sometimes slow myself down and not rush things. I’m going to shoot somewhere else on Sat morning.

2 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hi Kirk,

Did you want head down to Pt Perron on Saturday afternoon? Maybe Neal would like to as well if he is lurking around somewhere.

3 07 2008
jacarandaphotography

Nice shot and good to see a different view of the jetty from the norm.

Mark

3 07 2008
spoolphotography

Might put a spoke in the wheels but I hear Kalamunda Falls actually has water or even Noble Falls thats flowing fast and furious at present.

3 07 2008
Kirk Hille

Im happy with what ever this weekend might try and get out and shoot as much as possible this weekend let me know what you guys decid

3 07 2008
spoolphotography

I’d like to get up near Kalamunda sometime over he weekend myself. The beaches could be full of seaweed ?

3 07 2008
kirkhille

Not to sure where Kalamunda is but Im pretty cool with anywhere ,
is there falls at Kalamunda ?

4 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

I would be cool with a shot at the falls. I can get a shot at the beach anytime and let’s face it the sunsets are that strong at the moment.

I have the out laws staying with me for the weekend so I’d be very appreciative if we could set a day and time early. 🙂

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

You mean in-laws Jamie LOL ….

Lets shoot for a Sunday morning shoot we can get up there for sunrise and shoot for a hr or 2 before finding Jamie coffee and a breakfast croissant.

4 07 2008
kirkhille

Should be cool with that . How long drive is it to Kalamunda ?

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

From where you are 30 mins ish , from where I am near on 60 mins 😦

4 07 2008
jAMES

So no point perron.

Kirk, can you email me when the details are confirmed?

4 07 2008
kirkhille

Okay Neil so 6 am Kalamunda is there a road intersection you want to meet at ? Not really fimular with the location .
Will do James I probally going to shot somewhere saturday morning as well if your interested .

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

yeah I am up for a sat morning shot as the sunrises have ben pretty good of late. We could try and get a nice sunrise down around Mosman Bay again ?
Nearest cnr in Kalamunda I’ll have to get back to you on that though

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

Or we could try one of the beaches round Metlams Pool on Sat morning seeing as though the sunrises last couple of days have ben nice?

4 07 2008
kirkhille

Yeah I would be more keen on beachs mabye where Metlams Pool ?

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

Sat morning at metlams is cool with me …. Say 6am?

4 07 2008
kirkhille

Thats cool with me so is the spot Mettams Pool ?

Just down from Trigg Beach ?

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

I’ll will park as close to the sign as possible. I guess we just wait for Jamie to respond. Unless others have a cool location they want to try out.

4 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

I’m cool with Mettams Pool tomorrow morning. 🙂 Ties in well and I’m sure there is coffee nearby. I’d like to have a look at the falls before I turned up. So its settled? 0600 tomorrow morning?

Jamie Pateson

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

all good for me

4 07 2008
kirkhille

see you guys tomorrow morning

4 07 2008
spoolphotography

After clock watching all night, I slept in. Thats a first for me. Sorry guys I missed out.

5 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hehehe. We thought you’d slept in. Funny thing is I was running late and was going to call you to let you know. Glad I didn’t.

5 07 2008
Luke Austin

Ahh shit! Did you guys end up at mettams? That is literally about 65 metres from me. I could have put a few faces to the names.
How did the shoot go? I woke up at 6 am walked out front, checked it out and ended up going back to sleep.

5 07 2008
kirkhille

Yeah went down to mettams this morning but it was just me and Jamie , Neal decided to sleep in lol 🙂
Should of come down Luke , wasnt great sunrise going to go through the shots today hopefully .
I think every one is keen for Kalamunda falls tomorrow morning if your keen ?

5 07 2008
kirkhille

Hey Neal ,
What happended decided to sleep in lol 🙂
I was thinking about it when i woke up at 530 but got out of bed .
You still keen for Kalamunda Falls tomorrow ?
Might take a drive out today to try and sus out some new locations

5 07 2008
Luke Austin

Yeh I should have. Didn’t realise you were though. I might be keen on Kalamunda tomorrow, not sure if I have to work tomorrow yet though. I will know by this afternoon and let you know.

5 07 2008
spoolphotography

Yeah had one of those nights when I could not sleep and spent most of it watching the hrs tick by on the bedside clock till next thing I know I am waking up and its freakin 6.45am. Last check of the clock was something like 2.30am. I am goof for the falls, but as Jamie has said he wants to scout before tuning up, maybe we can check out somewhere on the River for the morning shoot ?

Some suggestions

Pelican Point – well east of it.
Rossmoyne waters.
Fremantle fishing boat harbor – where the commercial boats pen.
Mosman Bay – around the jetty
Burswood – near the old boat house that is a wreck right now

just suggestions.

5 07 2008
kirkhille

Thats cool mate , I done them before when i was suposed to be at work at 4am next thing its 6am and im getting a call lol .
Just took a drive up to Kalamunda today, Its got some nice locations for shots and there was plenty of water at the falls would be cool for an afternoon trip one weekend if any one else is keen.
Im cool with any where tomorrow monring Neil
dont know where Rossmoyne Waters , so which ever location you think would be best

5 07 2008
spoolphotography

Maybe we can do the falls tomorrow afternoon weather permitting, and Rossmoyne tomorrow morning?

Rossmoyne is on the Canning River Cnr Fifth Ave and Riverton Dr North

5 07 2008
kirkhille

Thats cool what time tomorrow monring ?

5 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Rossmoyne would be cool for me. 🙂 Probably don’t need to be there until 0630 though.

5 07 2008
spoolphotography

I guess yes 6.30 should be ok

We can all sling back to Jamies for coffee afterwards ….. 😉

5 07 2008
kirkhille

cool see you guys tomorrow at 630

5 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hi Kirk,

That is if Neal makes it. hehe.

5 07 2008
kirkhille

Yeah lol
Hopefully he will work out the alarm clock

5 07 2008
spoolphotography

funny bastards LOL

Leave a Reply

