Frematle Fishing Boat Harbour

16 07 2008

Just a quick post and shot  . This was from last Sunday morning at Fremantle Fishing Boat Harbour . Got up twice on the weekend before 6am 🙂 , Meet Jamie http://jamiepatersonphotography.wordpress.com/ and Neal http://spoolphotography.wordpress.com/ down at the cold warf . The sunrise was pretty good but we missed most the color as it was behind the boats and buildings , however i did take a walk down to the beach to get some shots of the clouds . When I returned back to the warf I had found Jamie had found a local bird who was fond of having there shot taken lol 😉 .

This was one of the shots i took still havent looked through them all yet . Was origianlly at 18 image stitch of the whole warf looked pretty impressive but far to wide . I think I croped this down to about 8 or 9 images  . One of the boats has a bit of motion blur from the long exposure , but i have some others shots from later in the morning with quicker shutters  still to go through . I still really liked where the clouds where to one side of this shot and it went from dark to light

Actions

Information

39 responses

16 07 2008
lukeaustin

DAMN! Show me up why don’t ya. Haha, awesome shot mate. Love the colours and the reflections.

16 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks mate , I still love your shot got a warm summer feel to it and the sky looks amazing plus i saw you caught a bit of a rainbow in yours as well

16 07 2008
beaumitchell

Wow! That’s a stunning image, Kirk. This is by far my favourite of yours so far…

16 07 2008
Dylan Fox

Good work! Looks like you three are getting out pretty regularly!

16 07 2008
thomasparkes

Great work mate.
Awesome colours.
Well done.

16 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hahah its cool Luke he’s shown me up as well and I was almost in exactly the same spot at the same time. Awesome work Kirk!!!

17 07 2008
clintbaker85

great shot mate, i think i might have to get down there and check it out

17 07 2008
spoolphotography

Awesome colors Kirk, I like the glassy feel and that large white boat facing the other way really adds appeal for me. I have yet to go through mine.

Yeah we can take the photographer out of the studio but we can’t take portrait photographer out of the photographer … (Jamie)

17 07 2008
Sinatra

Thats a Great Pc, Its nice to know that you have been part of that Photo!

17 07 2008
Stephen Williams

Really nice.
I like the soft colours you’ve managed.
The water looks brilliant!

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Beau ,
Yeah liked the look of this shot as well still got a few more to go through from that morning

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks dylan ,
yeah been out most weekends lol
havent had a sleep in for a while

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Thomas ,
Yeah clint its well worth the visit

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Jamie ,
Yeah this shot was taken from the top of the stairs I thought it was a good location

17 07 2008
kirkhille

thanks Neal , Yeah i liked how the white boat was facing in the other direction kind of makes it the focal point . Yeah appliecd a warming filter to it , but still liked the cooler colors of the orginal

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Stephen

17 07 2008
merv french

Kirk, this picture is AAA Class, you wouldn’t get much better. The only little thing I’d say is it could be just a touch too wide ,but then what could you leave out, it’s all good, well done and great processing.

How are you going with the tripod purchase?

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Merv ,
Yeah its a slighly too wide but didnt know what else to leave out .
The original was huge and cut in half almost .

Yeah Purchased mine today from RPA it was only about $30 more expensive then B&H in America . Got the one i was looking at and a Manfrotto 488RC2 Midi Ball Head which they recomended .
Would have loved a Gitzo but couldnt justify the price at the moment as am going to order a 17-40mm Canon lens soon as well .
Mabye get a Gitzo in a couple of years time but who knows what will be out by then

17 07 2008
mattlauder

Nice one Kirk… I love the composition and colour tones in the boats to the left.

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Matt 🙂

17 07 2008
Mel

Your pics are really rockin latly…Go Kirk!!

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks mel 🙂

17 07 2008
James

Great exposure on this shot. Fantasic photo.

17 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks James

17 07 2008
jdzphotoblog

Amazing work as always! 🙂

18 07 2008
spoolphotography

Congrats on the new tripod and head, your gonna love the ball head, so easy to level on uneven ground, most times I don’t even bother with making sure the tripod is spot on level I just use the head to level it up. Makes for super fast adjustments which mean more time shooting less set up time.

18 07 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Joyce ,
Havent seen any photos from you in while ?
You still posting shots 🙂

18 07 2008
jamiepatersonphotography

Hey Kirk,

I just put a couple more bird photos on my blog.

20 07 2008
dylanfox

Kirk mate what are your settings in PTGui for creating your pano?
My new version has the dpi set to 300 and I think in my PC version it was 72dpi so I would then go in photoshop and divide image size byt three and bring the dpi up to 250. I feel like I was getting a better image size before….
Hope that makes sense.

22 07 2008
kirkhille

Hey dylan ,
Not to sure have been oinly using PS3 for the last few images i stitch sorry not much help.

22 07 2008
Dylan Fox

Dont worry mate. Maybe I havent been panning as wide as I think I am or something….
By the way, one of you three will have to take me to these spots when I am back! Looks like your all havin a good time!

22 07 2008
kirkhille

Yeah mate ,
Found some good locations around the place
When do you get back to Perth ?

22 07 2008
dylanfox

In about a month or a little more…. I will try to get as much shooting and processing done over here as possible so it’s not piled when i get back!

22 07 2008
kirkhille

Cool ,
How many gigs of photos have you taken since you been over there ?

22 07 2008
dylanfox

About 20G…. which actually suprises me! I thought it would be more than that! I got a new shot up now. Have a squiz

30 07 2008
Sevylor Dad

Oh my what a wonderful picture! It’s beautiful! Makes me miss the waters at night.

5 08 2008
nick

hi, doyou sell these shots? i would love to buy something like this

5 08 2008
kirkhille

Hi Nick ill email you with details shortly

15 03 2009
Lisa Court

Hi, your photographs are amazing. I know this has probably been asked many times before but do you sell any of your photographs? This one of Fremantle Harbour is exactly what I am after. If you could let me know then that would be fantastic. Many thanks. Lisa

Leave a Reply

