Old Swan Brewery Reshoot

1 10 2008

Well last weekend I decided to head out Saturday morning to photography something after I missed the nice sunset Friday afternoon. Hadn’t really planned anything so decided to head somewhere close by the only place I could think of I wanted to reshoot was the Old Swan Brewery.
This is a bit of cliché photography of the building but still think it’s the best composition you can get with it and like the Perth Skyline in the background plus the building get nice glows of sun of the side of the them . As I arrived at the Old Swan Brwery the bottoms as the clouds were starting to turn red and I thought I would be in for a good sunrise, but in the end the colors sort of fizzled out to an average sunrise. While I was shooting I bumped into Luke Austin http://lukeaustin.wordpress.com/ after the swan brewery we head down the road to get some shot of the boat house but by the time I got there the sun had risen to high and didn’t get anything worth keeping .
This was an 8 image stitch.

Actions

Information

12 responses

1 10 2008
Mel

Really nice composition Kirk!!I find the sun a little bright and distracting on my screen,maybe it is just me.Love the reflections.

2 10 2008
Dylan Fox

i think this is a beautiful shot mate!
I have been wanting to re-shoot this spot for the last year or so.

2 10 2008
merv french

Nice shot Kirk. I’d probably crop that sun off and just go with the reflection off the brewery building, it’s quite a overblown distraction to me, none the less a good shot.

2 10 2008
spoolphotography

Nice clarity to the colors Kirk, very clean and the reflection is nice. The sun can be a little distracting. Have to wait till the sun movies just a little further south I guess.

3 10 2008
Dylan Fox

I agree about the sun being a distraction but still it looks amazing. Especially considering i don’t like to include the sun in mu shots.

3 10 2008
Sean Stak

You sir, are a bloody legend.

6 10 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Mell , yeah the water was dead carm .
I though it was a bit distracting but this image had the best colours out of them all

6 10 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Dylan

6 10 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Merv ,
tried croping it but wanted to keep the 3:1 ratio

6 10 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Neal

6 10 2008
kirkhille

Thanks Sean

7 10 2008
Stephen Williams

man this is amazing.
i do agree that the sun may have needed to be toned down a lil, but it really does bring your eyes through the scene nicely.
it has to be one of the best reflections i’ve seen from that location though!

Leave a Reply

