St Kilda Pier

20 08 2009

Went to go out for a shoot this morning but this rain wont just stop lol .

Woke up had a look out side and didn’t look to bad outside so got dress packed up my gear and head out to check a local spot off my list . While driving I though we could be in for a nice sunrise and there was still lots of gaps in the clouds and not to much heavy clouds . got to my location and started setting up took a couple of test shots while waiting for sunrise and then the next thing you know the sky is gone completely dark grey its starts raining came out of nowhere and wasn’t going to let up . So packed up and head home with no shots this  is morning . Hoepfully will get a break in the weather soon .

Finished off editing a couple of shoots from Melbourne this morning though .

Went down to the old Pier in St Kilda was hoping for a colorfull sunset that eveing but got a grey cold windy one instead lol .

Did two versions of this image a color shot and a hi key black and white .  Cant really decide which I prefer .


white-boarder

white-boarder

Actions

Information

27 responses

20 08 2009
Stephen Williams

nice Kirk

I really like the colour version.
i think the clouds have much more impact in that image.
the lights/reflections also stand out alot more for me.

so my votes on that one 🙂

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Stephen

20 08 2009
spoolphotography

my vote kirk goes for the B&W, just needs a little more definition in the sky …

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Neil ,
Will try another edit with more broady sky

20 08 2009
jamiepatersonphotography

Black and White.

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Jamie

20 08 2009
katie

I like the colour version as well, although the colours are washed out I still think it’s a beaituful image and the black and white doesn’t have as much contrast. Great composition, Kirk!

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Katie

20 08 2009
Luke Austin

B&W for me. It just has more of a classic/timeless feel about it.

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Luke

20 08 2009
Flemming Bo Jensen

I prefer the bw as it has more simplicity, the colours to not add to the photo in this instance. I agree with Neal, perhaps a touch more definition without going crazy on the contrast curves though.

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Flemming

20 08 2009
Clint Baker

yer B&W for me too mate…. but like neal said the sky needs something i rekon

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Clint will try another edit when i get some more time

20 08 2009
Graham Leggate

Hey Kirk, I prefer the colour version. The B&W needs some more definition in the sky. BTW.. nice composition.

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Graham

21 08 2009
Dylan Fox

For me its definetly the colour even though i love b&w it just is far too bland for me! Colour has my vote! 🙂

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Dylan

21 08 2009
Tony Middleton

Great to read about your experiences in Melbourne Kirk – having spent time in all the cities I love what melbourne has to offer in the cbd and inner burbs (as far as cities go!). So many things on whther it be festivals,sport,arts,music,shopping and food and the best thing is the people get into it all generally regardless of the weather.

Hopefully next trip you will get some better light, though you still got some top images to go with your new found extra kilos. ;P 🙂

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Tony ,
Yeah Melbourne has a lot to offer and the food amazing there . Hopefully next time im over there will get some better light

22 08 2009
christianfletcher

it’s colour for me, love the composition on this one mate.

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Christian

22 08 2009
mervfrench

colour

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Merv

27 08 2009
Rod Thomas

B&W mate, but both really nice

29 08 2009
kirkhille

Thanks Rod

7 10 2010
david rowlands

Hi Kirk

I’d be really interested in purchasing a 60cm hi-res image of the St Kilda Pier.
To be used in a brochure that I’m doing for a client.

Is it for sale?

Leave a Reply

