South Lake Tahoe

20 06 2010

Lake Tahoe was my 6th stop durring my visit to the US . I had hired a car and driven from Las Vegas to Yosemite then to Lake Tahoe . Its amazing how much the scenery and weather conditions can change in America compared to Australia . Durring the 8 hour drive from Las Vegas which was a hot dessert with cactus and shrub plants to cold Mountains with pine trees , river , giant granite rocks and snowing .

Lake Tahoe is a largest freshwater lake in the Sierra Nevada mountains of the United States . It is located along the border between California and Nevada, west of Carson City, Nevada . This would have to be one of my all time favorite locations to photograph and also visit  .

The above photograph is a 8 image stitch of Emerald Bay which is a short drive from Lake Tahoe town . You have to drive along windy roads along cliffs to get here and one part got step long drops on both sides which is quite scary  .

One thing you notice about Lake Tahoe is just how thin the air is up here , after running around the cliff and hills taking photos carrying my  camera bag and tripod I came out of breath a several times even though being young and pretty fit I guess you would climates to the thin air the longer you stay here .  It was also cold , I had thermals , plus jumpers and two jackets beanies and gloves on and it was freezing what made it worst was the wind up top . I would hate to see how cold it could get during winter .

Below is a single image of the Lake just before sunrise .

I only got to spend two nights here during my trip to the USA but it is defiantly on my list of places to return to .


Actions

Information

9 responses

20 06 2010
spoolphotography

Tahoe is a great spot, even though I have ben there 3 times I would love to go back again and shot from the north tahoe next time …

20 06 2010
kirkhille

Yeah , two days was not long enough to explore the lake and surrounding areas . Will be staying longer and exploring more next time I go .

20 06 2010
Flemming Bo Jensen

I skipped Lake Tahoe this time, but it is definitely on my list for next visit. It looks really pretty and tranquil, good shots. Like you I was amazed how much the scenery changes in one day!

20 06 2010
kirkhille

Would defiantly recommend going there next time your in the States Flemming . Yeah its a change from Western Australia where you can drive for two days and still have the same scenery

21 06 2010
Beau Mitchell - Landscape Photography

Not sure about the harsh vignette at the top of the second photograph, but apart from that they’re both awesome. Lake Tahoe looks like a landscape photographers dream.

21 06 2010
kirkhille

Thanks Beau ,
Yeah I think that was from the filters was finding it hard at that time to try and get the exposure right

20 07 2010
Mark

Really nice range of colours in that shot

8 08 2010
christian

Beautiful top image mate. Love everything about it.

16 12 2010
Myrl Nikocevic

I’m still learning from you, as I’m trying to achieve my goals. I definitely love reading all that is written on your website.Keep the information coming. I loved it

Leave a Reply

